OEAA’s announces music nominees

It’s time to name the best in Omaha music. At least, that’s the intention of the Omaha Entertainment And Arts Awards.

On Saturday, the nominations were released. And, after some voting, the winners will be picked in February.

While I think this is one of the better nomination lists I’ve ever seen from the OEA Awards, it’s still flawed.

Why is “best adult” combined with “alternative” and “songwriter? And why is there a category that just says “indie?” Those bands would fit under rock, alternative and singer/songwriter. Why is “funk” paired with “prog” and “experimental?” And who are the Minnahoonies and why are they voted one of the best rock bands? I’ve never heard of them. (Upon further research, they’re from Shenandoah, which should also disqualify them.)

Most pressing of all, why are Bright Eyes and Tim Kasher even in this fight? Yes, they are two of the biggest names in Omaha music, but they’re not in the same league as these other guys (nor are Emphatic, which released a major-label album).

Putting those guys in the same category as Matt Cox Band and Galvanized Tron is like nominating the Yankees and the Omaha Stormchasers for “best baseball team.” They’re not on the same level. I think I know who’s going to win.

Also, when Bright Eyes wins best artist, will Conor Oberst finally show up to pick it up his award?

Of course, it comes from the process by which nominees are picked. Nominations are submitted by the public. Then “the academy” votes on the nominees to choose the winners.

(Note: I’m supposedly an academy member, but I’ve never voted. I’ve also never received a ballot to vote, so that explains that. Hopefully, this year I’ll be able to participate.)

Still, the nominees are mostly right. There’s a lot of good music on that list. And it’s a great starting point for someone not familiar with the scene to maybe familiarize themselves.

Anyway, the 2012 awards show will go down on Feb. 12 at Harrah’s sometime in February. The awards are moving back to Omaha (they’ve been in CB in recent years), but the venue hasn’t yet been decided.

You probably want to see the nominees. Check them out after the jump.

Read them and let me know what you think in the comments.

Best New Artist
• Gus and Call
• Icky Blossoms
• We Be Lions
• The Big Deep
• Snake Island
• The Seen

Best Artist
• Galvanized Tron
• Emphatic
• Tim Kasher
• Bright Eyes
• Matt Cox

Best Cover Band
• Secret Weapon
• Hi-Fi Hangover
• Yesterday & Today
• Lemon Fresh Day
• Jerry Pranksters

Best Ethnic
• Omaha Guitar Trio
• The Bishops
• Vibenhai
• Donneybrook
• Mariachi Luna y sol

Best Progressive/Experimental/Funk
• Funk Trek
• In Dreama
• Blue Martian Tribe
• Machete Archive
• The Midland Band
• Satchel Grande

Best Jazz
• Steve Raybine
• Robot Baklva
• Matt Amandus
• Jazzocracy
• Jorge Nilla and The Jazz Ninjas

Best Blues
• Kris Lager Band
• Brad Cordle Band
• Lil’ Slim Blues Band
• 112 North Duck
• Mojo and The Mofos

Best Hip Hop
• Galvanized Tron
• Jimmy Hooligan
• Conchance
• Pflames
• Scru Face Jean
• Purveyors of the Conscious Sound

Best Soul/R&B and Gospel
• JaSoulo
• Lucas Kellison and the Assembled Soul
• The 9’s
• Second Chance
• Voices of Victory

Best Country/Americana
• Kanesville Boys
• Matt Cox Band
• Platte River Rain
• Jaymie Jones
• Filter Kings

• Somasphere
• Brent Crampton
• Gunk DJ’s (Kobrakyle and $pencelove)
• Icky Blossoms
• BASSthoven

Best Indie
• Lonely Estates
• Noah’s Ark Was A Spaceship
• Conduits
• So-So Sailors
• Dim Light
• Blue Bird

Best Hard Rock
• Against The Artificial
• Broken Crown
• The End In Red
• The Wreckage
• Aurasing

Best Rock
• Rock Paper Dynamite
• Voodoo Method
• Vago
• Mitch Gettman
• Kris Lager Band
• Minnahoonies

Best Adult/Alternative…Songwriter
• Tara Vaughan
• Mitch Gettman
• Manny Coon
• All Young Girls Are Machine Guns
• South Of Lincoln
• Eli Mardock

Best Album
• Bright Eyes – “The People’s Key”
• Tim Kasher – “The Game of Monogamy”
• Matt Cox – “Tracks in Sound”
• Galvanized Tron – “Galvanized Tron”
• Emphatic – “Damage”



Powered by Facebook Comments

This entry was posted in OEA Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.