Big Harp announces new album, ‘Chain Letters’

Big Harp has announced it’s dropping a new album, “Chain Letters,” on Jan. 22.

(Watch a preview video and see the tracklist below.)

Known as a folk duo, Big Harp ramps things up with a more electric approach on this new record. From seeing the band live, I think the material is a stark contrast to the pastoral sound of the band’s first album, “White Hat.”

It still has Chris Senseney’s songwriting sensibility, but the volume is cranked and he hits that electric guitar with a fury. Expect to hear Stefanie Drootin-Senseney’s bass in the mix a lot more as well.

“We really built the songs around Stef’s fuzz bass. It was kind of funny — we were sitting around in a bedroom playing really loud with no drums, just kind of trusting that it was going to make sense once we put it all together,” Senseney said in a press release. “Hopefully we landed closer to mid-’70′s Iggy Pop than Leonard Cohen this time.”

The band recorded at the couple’s home as well as at ARC in Omaha with Ben Brodin. Mike Mogis mixed the album.

You can pre-order the album from Saddle Creek now.

“Chain Letters” tracklist

1. You Can’t Save ‘Em All
2. Waiting For Some Drunk
3. Some People Are Born Strange
4. Good News
5. Bar All the Doors
6. No Trouble at All
7. Micajah with His Hands Up
8. Outside in the Snow
9. It’s Easy to Be Strange
10. Call Out the Cavalry, Strike Up the Band



Powered by Facebook Comments

This entry was posted in ARC, big harp, Saddle Creek. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.