The Faint to release new album, ‘Doom Abuse,’ with SQE Music


The Faint is back at it again.

After releasing a four-song, tour-exclusive EP in 2012 (their first new music in four years), the Omaha electronic-rock band’s will put out a new album on April 8, according to Pitchfork.

The Faint’s upcoming album, “Doom Abuse,” includes two songs from the EP (“Unseen Hand” and the excellent “Evil Voices”) and 10 other tracks.

Lead-off track “Help in the Head” is the band’s first single and it’s a crazy, screeching trip full of bass thumps and Clark Baechle’s precision drum strikes. Watch the video for “Help in the Head” below.

The album was mixed by Mike Mogis, and it’s also the band’s first full-length release since Joel Petersen left the band.

The band folded for a time after releasing “Fascinatiion” in 2008 and touring for more than a year. in As frontman Todd Fink told me awhile back, they weren’t having a whole lot of fun. When the band reconvened in 2012, they decided to go abandon the meticulous process they took on previous releases and just make new music “fast and furious.”

“I don’t know if we’re gonna be as picky about what stuff gets made or what. I think we’re gonna take a different approach — just making sure that it’s about fun and making things instead of waiting and waiting for something amazing to happen and then spending a bunch of time retooling it,” he told me in 2012.

“We didn’t second guess things,” Baechle said on their label’s website. “We just went with it. It feels more real. We wanted to see what we happened to play and just capture it. And leave the mistakes in.”

The result includes elements of low-fi, feedback, noise and punk rock. Lyrics speak of dark thoughts, subconscious and psychic phenomena, according to the band.


“Doom Abuse” will come out via SQE Music, the home of Jonathan Rice and CSS. You can pre-order the album now via iTunes and get an immediate download of “Help in the Head.”

A tour will kick off in April and close in Omaha on June 13 at Sokol Auditorium. A tracklist for “Doom Abuse” and full tour schedule is after the jump.

“Doom Abuse” tracklist
1 Help in the Head
2 Mental Radio
3 Evil Voices
4 Salt My Doom
5 Animal Needs
6 Loss of Head
7 Dress Code
8 Scapegoat
9 Your Stranger
10 Lesson from the Darkness
11 Unseen Hand
12 Damage Control

The Faint tour dates
04-24 Des Moines, IA – Wooly’s
04-25 Madison, WI – Barrymore Theatre
04-26 St. Louis, MO – The Ready Room
04-27 Lawrence, KS – The Bottleneck
04-30 Tulsa, OK – The Vanguard
05-01 Dallas, TX – Granada Theater
05-02 Austin, TX – The Belmont
05-03 Houston, TX – Warehouse Live – Ballroom
05-06 Fort Lauderdale, FL – The Culture Room
05-07 Lake Buena Vista, FL – House of Blues
05-09 Jacksonville Beach, FL – Freebird Live
05-10 Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade – Heaven
05-13 Philadelphia, PA – The Trocadero Theatre
05-14 Brooklyn, NY – Music Hall of Willamsburg
05-16 Boston, MA – Royale NightClub
05-17 New York, NY – Webster Hall
05-19 New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom
05-20 Washington, DC – 9:30 Club
05-22 Cleveland, OH – House of Blues
05-23 Chicago, IL – Metro
05-24 Minneapolis, MN – Fine Line Music Café
05-27 Boise, ID – Knitting Factory
05-28 Spokane, WA – Knitting Factory
05-30 Seattle, WA – Neptune
05-31 Portland, OR – Roseland Theater
06-01 San Francisco, CA – The Independent
06-05 Santa Ana, CA – The Observatory
06-06 West Hollywood, CA – The Roxy Theatre
06-11 Salt Lake City, UT – The Depot
06-12 Englewood, CO – Gothic Theatre
06-13 Omaha, NE – Sokol Auditorium



Powered by Facebook Comments

This entry was posted in The Faint. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.